Puskas Award: Lets take a look at list of FIFA’s goal of the year nominees

In 2009, FIFA introduced the Puskás Award to recognize the best goal of the calendar year. FIFA nominated 11 goals this year, and they truly capture the full spectrum: from long-range stunners to scorpion kicks, backheels to volleys, the game’s biggest names to some lesser-known gems, a few extraordinary contenders recognised.

The shortlist is impressively diverse, featuring splendid crackdown scored all over the world in both the men’s and women’s game, from FIFA World Cup and UEFA Women’s Champions League finals to matches in the AFC Under-23 Asian Cup and the Polish amputee soccer league.

Even though the Puskas award is based on both exceptional teamwork and solo sensational goal, some of the greatest players to ever play the game have won it.

Despite winning the first Puskas Award, Cristiano Ronaldo has only been nominated once again, and he came in second to Mohamed Salah in 2018.

Since the Puskas Award was founded in 2009, Lionel Messi has received a total of seven nominations, but he has never managed to place higher than the second position he earned in 2019 – his most recent appearance on a Puskas shortlist but his best mate Neymar has won the award back in 2011 when the Brazilian prince used to play for Santos.

FIFA nominated eleven candidates across all the competetion in the world. We have covered all the nominees and their magnificent strikes.

Mario Balotelli v Göztepe

Amandine Henry v Barcelona

Theo Hernández v Atalanta

Alou Kuol v Iraq U23s

Kylian Mbappé v Argentina

Francisco Gonzalez Metilli v Rosario Central

Salma Paralluelo v Barcelona

Richarlison v Serbia

Alessia Russo v Sweden

Marcin Oleksy v Stal Rzeszów

Dimitry Payet v PAOK

Salah Uddin Rafi

289 articles

Sports Content Writer. Covering F1, Tennis, Naskar and mostly Soccer. Graduated from Jahangirnagar University. A game of football is relentlessly uncompromised because passion runs thick through the veins.


Leave a Comment