CFB Awards 2023: LSU WR Malik Nabers frustrated after OSU star Marvin Harrison Jr wins the Biletnikoff Trophy

In a close and contentious race for the CFB Awards 2023, LSU’s standout wide receiver Malik Nabers finds himself grappling with disappointment. The coveted honor slipped through his grasp to Ohio State’s Marvin Harrison Jr. by a mere one vote during the Friday night awards ceremony. 

However, Nabers took to social media to publicly express his frustration. The college football player shared his disappointment over this unexpected result on his X account. 

Malik Nabers unhappy with Marvin Harrison Jr’s victory

The Biletnikoff Award in CFB Awards 2023 is presented to the top wide receiver in college football in which Haley Van Voorhis is creating history. The voting for the award resulted in one of the closest margins in its history.

Marvin Harrison narrowly beat Nabers for the Biletnikoff Award by just one vote. This close outcome prompted Nabers, who plays for the national championship winning team to express his dissatisfaction on social media.

CFB Awards 2023
Via LSU Wire

Nabers took to a platform (formerly Twitter, referred to as “X”) to share his feelings of perceived disrespect. His post emphasized the significance of the result with the statement, “REMEMBER THAT!! So disrespectful.”

Malik Nabers, in addition to his role as LSU’s all-time career leader in receptions, had an impressive season with 86 catches, 1,564 yards, and 14 touchdowns. On the other hand, Marvin Harrison Jr., a Heisman Trophy finalist, contributed to Ohio State with 67 receptions, 1,211 yards, and 14 touchdowns.

Harrison, widely recognized as a top NFL talent, hasn’t confirmed whether he will return for his senior season with Ohio State or enter the 2024 NFL draft but he is disappointed over losing to Harrison

CFB Awards 2023 winners list

Here is a list of winners from the CFB Awards 2023. 

CFB Awards 2023
Via The Tennessean
  • Michael Penix Jr. (Washington): Maxwell Award – Player of the Year
  • Jayden Daniels (LSU): Walter Camp Award – Player of the Year in college football
  • Kalen DeBoer (Washington): Home Depot Coach of the Year – Top coach in college football
  • Trey Taylor (Air Force): Jim Thorpe Award – Best Defensive Back.
  • Jayden Daniels (LSU): Davey O’Brien Award – Best Quarterback.
  • Jackson Powers-Johnson (Oregon): Rimington Award – Best Center
  • Graham Nicholson (Miami, OH): Lou Groza Award – Best Placekicker
  • Payton Wilson (NC State): Butkus Award – Best Linebacker
  • Ollie Gordon II (Oklahoma State): Doak Walker Award – Best Running Back
  • Marvin Harrison Jr. (Ohio State): Biletnikoff Award – Outstanding Receiver
  • Brock Bowers (Georgia): John Mackey Award – Best Tight End
  • T’Vondre Sweat (Texas): Outland Trophy – Best Interior Lineman
  • Tory Taylor (Iowa): Ray Guy Award – Best Punter
  • Xavier Watts (Notre Dame): Bronko Nagurski Trophy – Defensive Player of the Year.
  • Cody Schrader (Missouri): Burlsworth Trophy – Top Former Walk-On.
  • Brian Dooley (Eastern Michigan): Disney Spirit Award – Most Inspirational Player
  • Bo Nix (Oregon): William V. Campbell Trophy – Academic Heisman
  • Ladd McConkey (Georgia): Wuerffel Trophy – Community Service.
  • Phil Parker (Iowa): Broyles Award – Top Assistant Coach

The list covers a range of awards that were distributed in CFB Awards 2023, recognizing outstanding performances in various positions and aspects of college football. Players, coaches, and contributors from different teams and positions were acknowledged for their excellence during the CFB Awards 2023.

Maheen Zaib

867 articles

Maheen is a writer for SportsZion. She's your go-to for all things NFL, from epic game highlights to trade scoops and breaking news. Navigating the sports scene with flair, join her on this thrilling journey through the NFL's wild ride. Let's score some great reads together!


Leave a Comment